Mn GLBT Educational Fund Awards - 2002 Winners

Presented on May 23, 2002, 7pm at the Universit of Minnesota St. Paul Campus, North Star Ballroom.

Jessica Bowman -- Pat McCart Memorial Award ($1,000)

Jessica Bowman of St. Louis Park High School will attend St. Cloud State University. She plans to be a teacher, focusing on special education or physical education.

Brandon Braegelmann -- Byron Thayer Award ($1,000)

Brandon Braegelmann of St. John's Preparatory in Collegeville, Minn., plans to attend the Univ. of Minn. and focus on environmental studies.

Russell Ericksen -- Mark Snyder Award ($1,000)

Russell Ericksen of Jefferson High School in B1oomington, Minn., will attend Boston University. He is interested in studying biology and biochemistry and hopes to become an AIDS researcher.

Lina Knox -- Dr. Tom Knabel Scholarship ($1,000)

Lina Knox of Edison High School in Minneapolis will attend Winona State University. She plans to become a physical education instructor.

David Murr -- Wellness Award ($1,500)

David Murr, Eagan High School, plans to study at a major university, hopefully Columbia University. He intends to become a teacher or counselor.

James Ohman -- Dignity/Twin Cities and Friends Award ($1,000)

James Ohman of Superior High School in Superior, WI, plans to study nursing and graphic design at Lake Superior College.

Erin Schneider -- Community Scholarship ($1,000)

Erin Schneider of South High School in Minneapolis, will study science at Bemidji State University.

Sarah Brandt -- MCTC Faculty Award ($1,000)

Sarah Brandt is attending Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC) with a focus on women's studies and humanities.

Cameron Brauer -- Univ, of Minn. Students Award ($1,000)

Cameron Brauer, a junior at the Univ. of Minn.-Crookston, is majoring in information technology management and minoring in applied ethics.

Nicholas Schrott -- Univ. of Minn. Students Award ($1,000)

Nicholas Schrott, a sophomore at the Univ. of Mn Twin Cities, has a double major in journalism and global studies.

Jane Ramseyer Miller -- Univ. of Minn. Students Award ($1,000)

Jane Ramseyer Miller is working on her masters of music in choral conducting at the Univ. of Minn.

Wendy Brovold -- Jennifer Krohn Award ($1,000)

Wendy Brovold, a junior at Minnesota State Univ., is majoring in sociology, minoring in women's studies.

Reginald Davis -- RBC Dain Rauscher Award (1,000)

Reginald Davis is studying political science at the Univ. of Minn. at Morris.

Mark Andrew Frank -- Lutheran Student Award ($500)
and the Shulka-Drake Award ($500)

Mark Andrew Frank, a freshman at the Univ. of Mn Twin Cities, is studying architecture.

Anthony Heryla -- Agee-Bertke Award ($500)
and the Reviewers' Award ($500)

Anthony Heryla, a freshman at the Univ. of Minn., pursuing linguistics with a double major in French and Chinese.

Phillip Lichtenwalter -- ROR Financial Services Inc/Men In Primary Education Award ($1,000)

Phillip Lichtenwalter of St. Mary's Univ. in Winona, Minn., is studying philosophy and social science.

Jenny Ryan -- Howard Liebhaber Human Rights Award ($1,000)

Jenny Ryan is currently studying law at the Univ. of Minn.

Michael Seim -- Southeast Minnesota Award ($1,000)

Michael Seim will study nursing at the Univ. of Minn.-Rochester.

Sam Patricia Rivers Weber -- All God's Children Metropolitan Community Church Award ($500) and the Clark/Dibble/Maier/Zita Award ($500)

Sam Patricia Rivers Weber is attending the Univ. of Minn., and majoring in sociology with a focus on law, criminology and deviance, minoring in women's studies.

Return to Previous Award Winners index page ..... Return to Mn GLBT Educational Fund home page
Last updated on Nov 01, 2010